Bitwise Interviews 15 Institutions: Every Crypto Holder Owns Bitcoin, None Cut Its Allocation in the Drawdown
The report finds bitcoin paired with gold, allocations shrinking as more people must approve them, and holdings that 13F filings do not fully capture.
On September 23, the asset manager Bitwise published its first report on how large institutions invest in bitcoin and other digital assets. The report rests on 15 interviews conducted between late March and April 2026 with the investment professionals responsible for crypto decisions at endowments, foundations, public pension funds, sovereign wealth funds, multi-family offices, investment consultants and public companies.
The report was written by Matt Hougan, Bitwise's chief investment officer, and Ryan Rasmussen, its head of research. Bitwise manages about 9 billion dollars in client assets and does not name the institutions it interviewed.
What the report found
Bitcoin is in every crypto portfolio. Every institution that holds digital assets holds bitcoin. For nearly all of them it was the first, largest and longest-held position. Several weight a basket of leading assets by market value, which puts about 80% of their holdings in bitcoin. Most hold bitcoin as a standalone position.
Allocations are small. They ranged from 0.5% to 13% of investable assets, with most between 1% and 2%.
No one cut during the drawdown. Bitwise writes that none of the institutions reduced its allocation during the roughly 50% decline between the fourth quarter of 2025 and the second quarter of 2026, and that several bought more. Asked what would make them sell, none named price. The stated triggers were a failed investment thesis, a regulatory reversal or a crisis of credibility across the industry.
Ether and Solana are held differently. Institutions that own them hold smaller positions on shorter horizons, with exit conditions tied to whether usage turns into value for the token. Several said they would sell if meaningful adoption does not arrive in the next few years. Several hold neither.
The more approvers, the smaller the allocation. According to Bitwise, allocation size falls as the number of people who must approve it rises. Family offices reported the highest allocations and sovereign wealth funds the lowest.
Allocations by type of institution
The report breaks its findings down by type of investor. The ranges below are Bitwise's own figures.
| Type of institution | Assets managed | Share in digital assets | Vehicles used |
|---|---|---|---|
| Endowments and foundations | 0.5 to 75 billion dollars | 0.5% to 10%, most 0.5% to 2% | Venture funds, spot ETFs, direct custody, hedge funds |
| Sovereign wealth funds | 1 to 100 billion dollars | 1.0% to 1.5% | Hedge funds, venture funds, direct custody, spot ETFs, index funds |
| Public pension funds | 1 to 10 billion dollars | 1.5% to 4.5% | Venture funds and hedge funds |
| Multi-family offices and consultants | 1 to 50 billion dollars | 0% for nonprofit clients up to 13%, family target 5% | Venture funds, spot ETFs, index funds |
| Public companies | not stated | 1% to 10% of excess cash | Spot ETFs, direct custody |
The report is not fully consistent on size. Its methodology section describes the institutions as managing "hundreds of millions to tens of billions of dollars", while the table for sovereign wealth funds extends to 100 billion.
Bitcoin next to gold
Most interviewees described bitcoin as a store of value, often explicitly alongside gold. Several endowments built bitcoin and gold positions in parallel. One institution keeps bitcoin in its gold allocation and told Bitwise: "We could be having this conversation in 10 years and we're telling you we gave up on gold and it's all bitcoin now."
In one case, a sovereign wealth fund is paying for part of its crypto allocation by selling foreign currency and gold reserves. A large endowment whose rules bar it from holding spot commodities, even through an ETF, still describes bitcoin as the digital equivalent of gold. One foundation rejects that framing and treats the whole sector as disruptive technology. How bitcoin and gold compare as stores of value is covered in Bitcoin vs. Gold.
Holdings the filings do not show
Much of what is publicly known about institutional bitcoin holdings comes from Form 13F. Investment managers with discretion over 100 million dollars or more in listed securities must file it with the SEC within 45 days after each quarter. It lists holdings at the end of the quarter, including spot bitcoin ETFs. Bitcoin held directly and stakes in private venture or hedge funds do not appear.
The report points to that gap. One institution said that 13F disclosure of its ETF position creates public visibility it would rather avoid. The public pension funds in the sample hold digital assets only through venture and hedge funds. One sovereign wealth fund is building domestic custody to meet a government requirement for direct control of the underlying assets. Bitwise concludes that estimates of institutional ownership based on 13F filings "should be seen as a floor, not a ceiling." The report does not say which institutions hold what outside the filings.
What public filings show
Where filings exist, they show institutions moving in different directions through the same months.
Abu Dhabi's Mubadala Investment Company held 12,702,323 shares of BlackRock's iShares Bitcoin Trust (IBIT) at the end of 2025 and 14,721,917 shares at the end of March 2026, an increase of 15.9%. The Abu Dhabi Investment Council reported 8,218,712 IBIT shares, worth about 315.8 million dollars, at the end of March.
Harvard's endowment went the other way. It held 6,813,612 IBIT shares at the end of September 2025, 5,353,612 at the end of December and 3,044,612 at the end of March 2026. In the first quarter it also sold its entire position in BlackRock's ether ETF, 3,870,900 shares it had reported three months earlier. At the end of March, Harvard held about 199.8 million dollars in the SPDR Gold Trust and about 117.0 million dollars in IBIT.
Across all 13F filers, CoinShares counted the equivalent of 261,000 BTC at the end of the first quarter of 2026, down 17% from the previous quarter, with endowments down 40%. Harvard does not have to be one of the 15 institutions Bitwise interviewed, so the filings do not contradict the report directly. They show that institutions as a group did not move in one direction.
Two state investors in Europe took first steps before the interviews began. In October 2025, Luxembourg's Intergenerational Sovereign Wealth Fund announced a 1% allocation to bitcoin ETFs. In November 2025, the Czech National Bank created a 1 million dollar test portfolio that includes bitcoin, kept separate from its international reserves.
What large banks have told their clients
The allocations in the report sit close to the ranges that large asset managers and banks have published for their own clients. In December 2024, BlackRock described 1% to 2% as a reasonable range and wrote that such an allocation adds portfolio risk "at levels comparable to a single 'Magnificent 7' stock in a 60/40 portfolio." BlackRock advised against going beyond 2%.
Morgan Stanley's Global Investment Committee followed in October 2025 with up to 4% for its most growth-oriented portfolios, 2% for balanced ones and none for portfolios focused on preserving wealth. Bank of America allowed its advisers to recommend 1% to 4% from January 5, 2026. Vanguard opened its brokerage platform to crypto ETFs in December 2025.
The limits of the report
Fifteen interviews are a small sample. Bitwise does not disclose how the institutions were selected, whether they are its clients or how many fall into each category. Bitwise sells crypto ETFs and index funds to the same kind of investor, a point also raised in trade press coverage of the report.
The report ends with an expectation, not a finding: Bitwise expects a majority of institutional investors to hold digital assets within five years. A larger survey from March 2026, by EY-Parthenon and Coinbase among 351 institutional investors, found that 73% intended to increase their holdings this year and 66% already held spot crypto ETFs or similar products. Coinbase also has a commercial interest in the outcome.
Bitwise names regulatory clarity as the main force that could speed adoption. In the United States, the Senate's attempt at a market structure law failed in September, a story covered in our analysis of the CLARITY Act. Why career risk shapes institutional decisions more than the investment case does is the subject of our essay Fail Conventionally. How Bitwise's chief investment officer framed institutions as the next large buyer after Strategy is examined in Who Buys Bitcoin After Strategy.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. According to Bitwise, none of the 15 institutions it interviewed reduced its allocation during the roughly 50% decline between the fourth quarter of 2025 and the second quarter of 2026, and several bought more. Bitwise does not name the institutions. Public filings from the same period show that some well-known holders outside the report did sell, among them Harvard's endowment.
In the Bitwise interviews, allocations ranged from 0.5% to 13% of investable assets, with most between 1% and 2%. Family offices reported the highest allocations and sovereign wealth funds the lowest. BlackRock has described 1% to 2% as a range that adds portfolio risk comparable to a single large technology stock.
Form 13F covers listed securities such as spot ETFs, reported at the end of each quarter. Bitcoin held directly and stakes in private venture or hedge funds do not appear. Bitwise reports that some institutions deliberately use such vehicles, and concludes that 13F-based estimates should be read as a floor, not a ceiling.
Sources
- 1.Bitwise — Institutional Crypto Adoption 2026, report by Matt Hougan and Ryan Rasmussen, September 23, 2026
- 2.Bitwise — The First-Ever Bitwise Institutional Crypto Adoption Report
- 3.PR Newswire — Bitwise Publishes Inaugural Report on How the World's Largest Institutions Are Investing in Crypto Today
- 4.Investor.gov — Form 13F, Reports Filed by Institutional Investment Managers
- 5.SEC EDGAR — Mubadala Investment Co PJSC, Form 13F-HR for the period ending December 31, 2025
- 6.SEC EDGAR — Mubadala Investment Co PJSC, Form 13F-HR for the period ending March 31, 2026
- 7.SEC EDGAR — Abu Dhabi Investment Council Co PJSC, Form 13F-HR for the period ending March 31, 2026
- 8.SEC EDGAR — Harvard Management Co Inc, Form 13F-HR for the period ending September 30, 2025
- 9.SEC EDGAR — Harvard Management Co Inc, Form 13F-HR for the period ending December 31, 2025
- 10.SEC EDGAR — Harvard Management Co Inc, Form 13F-HR for the period ending March 31, 2026
- 11.CoinShares — Bitcoin 13F Q1 2026 Report: Professional Ownership in the Bear Market
- 12.CoinDesk — Luxembourg Claims Bragging Rights as First Eurozone Nation to Invest in Bitcoin, October 9, 2025
- 13.Czech National Bank — The CNB creates a test portfolio of digital assets, November 13, 2025
- 14.BlackRock — Sizing bitcoin in portfolios, December 11, 2024
- 15.CoinDesk — Morgan Stanley Recommends a 4% 'Opportunistic' Crypto Portfolio Allocation, October 7, 2025
- 16.The Block — Bank of America backs 4% crypto allocation cap, ending adviser restrictions and adding bitcoin ETF coverage
- 17.CoinDesk — Vanguard Opens Platform to Crypto ETFs in Major Shift, December 1, 2025
- 18.Coinbase — 2026 EY-Parthenon and Coinbase survey: Volatility sharpens institutional approach to crypto, March 18, 2026
- 19.Blockhead — No Institution Cut Its Crypto Allocation Through the 50% Drawdown, Bitwise Survey Finds, September 25, 2026
Not financial advice. CanoeBit publishes educational content only. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy, sell, or hold any asset.